Alright, I came up with my first 30-day challenge:  I’m going to eat a vegan diet for the next 30 days.  I started on Saturday April 3rd so I’m going to continue on for the next 27 days.

For a brief backgrounder, I’ve never been vegetarian or vegan but I’ve toyed with the idea for about a year now and am interested in the health and environmental benefits that a high veg / low meat consumption diet provides.  On that note though I really don’t know much about veganism, so I’m kind of jumping head first into this (why not, right!)

Wikipedia’s definition for veganism is as follows:

Veganism is a philosophy and lifestyle that seeks to exclude the use of animals for food, clothing, or any other purpose.[1][2] Vegans endeavor not to use or consume animal products of any kind.[3] The most common reasons for becoming a vegan are human health, ethical commitment or moral conviction concerning animal rights or welfare, the environment, and spiritual or religious concerns.[2][4][5] Of particular concern to many vegans are the practices involved in factory farmingand animal testing, and the intensive use of land and other resources for animal farming.

Sounds good to me!

What does this mean?

-In a nutshell no fish, meat, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or honey.

-Hardcore vegans also don’t use any animal products or by-products, including leather, fur, silk, wool, soaps, and cosmetics derived from animal products (I’m going to draw the line at what I’m eating for this month though, i.e. I have a leather couch and I’m still going to sit on it).

-No eating at Brickyard Pizza at 2:ooa.m. after the bars (no one said this was going to be easy).

On Friday night (during my last hours of carnivorous living) I had a double cheeseburger with extra pickles meal from McDonald’s (just because I could).  We’ll see how bad I feel about that in one month’s time!  Here we go!

